Canada-
Select a Country

MEETING PATIENTS’ NEEDS

Our discovery and development process always begins with the patient. We ask ourselves these important questions: How are patient needs not currently being met? How can we improve their treatment options? How can we work toward better outcomes? Starting with patient needs helps us focus our efforts and keeps our eye on our goal: to help patients improve their health and their lives.
focusimg1_03

Our discovery and development efforts are focused on a core set of therapeutic areas where we have proven expertise and where we believe we can have an even greater impact on the disease and how it is managed. These core areas of focus include hepatitis C (HCV), neuroscience, immunology, oncology, renal disease and women’s health.

Read more about medicines we’re developing in these areas in Pipeline.


ADDRESSING SERIOUS HEALTH ISSUES

VIROLOGY

Our antiviral programme is focused on developing treatments for hepatitis C (HCV), a disease that affects more than 170 million people worldwide, with approximately 4 million people newly infected each year. HCV infections can potentially lead to long-term complications. AbbVie scientists are working to transform current treatment practices by investigating a new treatment regimen that is interferon-free for patients with genotype 1 HCV. We have several compounds for HCV in late-stage development, including protease, non-nucleoside polymerase and NS5A inhibitors.


NeuroSCIENCES

We are conducting innovative research on compounds that target receptors in the brain. These receptors help regulate pain, mood, memory and other neurological functions. We have a number of early and advanced investigational compounds in human studies for conditions such as schizophrenia, chronic pain, Alzheimer’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, and multiple sclerosis (MS)—all of which affect millions of people worldwide.


Immunology

AbbVie's scientific experience with our biologics serves as a strong foundation for continuing research in immunology. AbbVie is investigating a number of additional diseases, including spondyloarthropathies, hidradenitis suppurativa and uveitis, all of which are in late-stage development. Our early discovery programmes are focused on the investigation of both targeted oral therapies and biologics. AbbVie scientists are innovators in the antibody therapeutic field, with the creation and development of proprietary Dual-Variable Domain antibodies (DVD-Ig), which allows for creating combination biologics to simultaneously target multiple pathways responsible for disease progression.


Oncology

Our oncology research is focused on the discovery and development of targeted therapies that work against the processes cancers need to survive. We are investigating both small- and large-molecule approaches, and our internal research efforts are balanced with external collaborations across industry, academia and government. AbbVie's oncology pipeline includes multiple new molecules in clinical trials, being studied in more than 15 different cancers and tumour types, including some of the most widespread and difficult to treat cancers such as multiple myeloma and chronic lymphocytic leukaemia.


Women’s Health

AbbVie is currently focused on developing a compound for endometriosis and uterine fibroids, which each affect more than 16 million women worldwide. Both are highly prevalent conditions associated with a number of symptoms including pain and infertility. Because these conditions are under treated, we have the potential to fill a significant therapeutic void.


GENERAL MEDICINE

We continue to focus on research and development for other disease areas of significant need.

Leave AbbVie.ca

You are now leaving the AbbVie.ca Web site. The AbbVie Internet site that you have requested is intended for the residents of a particular country or countries, as noted on that site. As a result, the site may contain information on pharmaceuticals and other products or uses of those products that are not approved in Canada.


Do you wish to continue?

Exit AbbVie.ca

Notice

You are about to leave an AbbVie Canada site, a Web site maintained by AbbVie Corporation. This link is provided for your convenience only. AbbVie Corporation takes no responsibility for the content of any Web site maintained by any third party and makes no representation as to the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this or any subsequent link.

Do you wish to leave this site?

Canada-
SÉLECTIONNER UN PAYS

RÉPONDRE AUX BESOINS DES PATIENTS

Le patient est en permanence au cœur de nos activités de recherche et de développement. Nous nous posons d'importantes questions : Quels sont les besoins actuellement non satisfaits des patients? Comment améliorer les options de traitement? Comment parvenir à de meilleurs résultats? Le fait de partir des besoins des patients nous aide à cibler nos efforts et à ne pas perdre de vue notre objectif : aider les patients à mieux vivre, en meilleur santé.

focusimg1_03

Nos efforts en matière de recherche et de développement se concentrent sur une série de domaines thérapeutiques fondamentaux dans lesquels nous possédons une expertise éprouvée et où nous pensons pouvoir avoir un impact encore plus grand sur la maladie et sa prise en charge. Ces principaux domaines cibles incluent l'infection par le virus de l'hépatite C (VHC), les neurosciences, l'immunologie, l'oncologie, l'insuffisance rénale et la santé des femmes.

Pour en savoir plus sur la mise au point des médicaments dans ces domaines, consultez la section Pépinière de produits en développement.


TROUVER DES SOLUTIONS À DES PROBLÈMES DE SANTÉ MAJEURS

VIROLOGIE

Notre programme de recherche sur les antiviraux a pour but de mettre au point des traitements contre l'infection par le virus de l'hépatite C (VHC), une maladie qui touche plus de 170 millions de personnes dans le monde, avec environ 4 millions de nouveaux cas par an. Les infections par le VHC peuvent entraîner des complications à long terme. Les chercheurs d'AbbVie s'efforcent de modifier les pratiques thérapeutiques actuelles en mettant au point un nouveau schéma thérapeutique dépourvu d'interféron pour les patients infectés par le VHC de génotype 1. Plusieurs composés pour le VHC en sont au dernier stade de la mise au point, dont des inhibiteurs de la protéase, des inhibiteurs non nucléosidiques de la polymérase et des inhibiteurs de la protéine non structurale 5A (NS5A) du VHC.

 


NEUROSCIENCES

Nous menons des recherches innovantes sur des composés ciblant les récepteurs présents dans le cerveau. Ces récepteurs participent à la régulation de la douleur, de l'humeur, de la mémoire et d'autres fonctions neurologiques. Nous avons mis au point plusieurs composés expérimentaux qui en sont au stade initial ou à un stade plus avancé d'études sur l'homme et ciblent des affections qui touchent des millions de personnes dans le monde, telles que la schizophrénie, la douleur chronique, la maladie d'Alzheimer, la maladie de Parkinson et la sclérose en plaques.


Immunologie

Nos recherches en immunologie s'appuient sur notre solide expérience des médicaments biologiques. AbbVie étudie aujourd'hui des traitements pour plusieurs autres affections, dont les spondyloarthropathies, l'hidradénite suppurative et l'uvéite, qui en sont tous au dernier stade de développement. Nos programmes de dépistage précoce mettent l'accent sur la recherche de médicaments oraux et biologiques ciblés. Les chercheurs d'AbbVie sont des pionniers dans le domaine des traitements par anticorps, puisqu'ils sont à l'origine de la création et du développement de la technologie exclusive d'anticorps à domaine à double variable ou DVD-Ig (Dual-Variable Domain antibodies), qui permet de mettre au point des médicaments biologiques combinés afin de cibler simultanément plusieurs voies responsables de l'évolution de la maladie.


Oncologie

Nos recherches en oncologie sont axées sur la découverte et la mise au point de traitements ciblées s'attaquant aux processus indispensables à la survie des cancers. Nous étudions des approches basées sur de petites et de grandes molécules et nos efforts de recherche reposent autant sur nos ressources internes que sur des collaborations externes avec d'autres entreprises du secteur, des universités et les gouvernements. La pépinière de produits oncologiques d'AbbVie compte de multiples nouvelles molécules au stade des essais cliniques, étudiées dans plus de 15 cancers et types de tumeurs différents, dont certains des cancers les plus répandus et les plus difficiles à traiter, comme le myélome multiple et la leucémie lymphoïde chronique.


Santé des femmes

AbbVie concentre actuellement ses efforts sur la mise au point d'un composé pour le traitement de l'endométriose et des fibromes utérins, affections qui touchent plus de 16 millions de femmes dans le monde. Ces deux affections extrêmement fréquentes sont associées à divers symptômes, dont la douleur et la stérilité. Compte tenu que les traitements pour ces affections sont actuellement insuffisants, nous avons là l'occasion de répondre à des besoins thérapeutiques importants non encore satisfaits.


MÉDECINE GÉNÉRALE

Nous poursuivons nos activités de recherche et développement dans d’autres secteurs où les besoins sont grands.
 

AbbVie.ca

Vous êtes sur le point de quitter le site Web d’AbbVie.ca. Le site Web d’AbbVie que vous voulez consulter (en anglais seulement) est conçu pour les résidents du ou des pays indiqués dans ce site Web. Il peut donc contenir des renseignements sur des produits ou sur l’emploi de ces derniers qui ne sont pas autorisés au Canada.


Désirez-vous continuer?

AbbVie.ca

Vous êtes sur le point de quitter un site Web d’AbbVie Canada dont la maintenance est assurée par Corporation AbbVie.

Ce lien vous a été fourni uniquement pour plus de commodité. Corporation AbbVie n’assume aucune responsabilité pour ce qui est du contenu de tout site Web offert par un tiers et ne fait aucune déclaration pour ce qui est de l’exactitude ou de l’intégralité des renseignements contenus sur ce site ou d’autres sites.